PDA

View Full Version : echo a n length string of characters based on variable value

kakotako
October 28th, 2009, 04:24 PM
I am writing a bash script that will take quick measurements and visualize them on screen in a form of a scrolling histogram.

Everything works well except that the below excerpt prints "|" characters one by one instead of all at once. This looks cool but is of no consequence for my measurements and just adds latency to the measurement taking.

while [ "$i" -le "$MaxValue" ]
do
echo -n "|"
i=`expr $i + 1`
done

I would match rather get rid of the WHILE loop and use ECHO alone if there was a way to make echo print a $MaxValue length of "|" characters in a single statement.

If that's impossible I was thinking using if/then statements, one for each $MaxValue from 1 to 80. I tested it and it works fast but it doesn't seem very elegant.

Thanks all. I am a bash script beginner so be easy on me.

ghostdog74
October 28th, 2009, 04:28 PM
maybe i don't understand your problem, but you can use printf instead of echo

Arndt
October 28th, 2009, 04:34 PM
I am writing a bash script that will take quick measurements and visualize them on screen in a form of a scrolling histogram.

Everything works well except that the below excerpt prints "|" characters one by one instead of all at once. This looks cool but is of no consequence for my measurements and just adds latency to the measurement taking.

while [ "$i" -le "$MaxValue" ]
do
echo -n "|"
i=`expr $i + 1`
done

I would match rather get rid of the WHILE loop and use ECHO alone if there was a way to make echo print a $MaxValue length of "|" characters in a single statement.

If that's impossible I was thinking using if/then statements, one for each $MaxValue from 1 to 80. I tested it and it works fast but it doesn't seem very elegant.

Thanks all. I am a bash script beginner so be easy on me.

You can construct the string in a loop, and then output it:

i=0
s=""

while [ $i -le 10 ]
do
s="|$s"