PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] File dependency problem?

holadebob
October 28th, 2009, 01:21 AM
Hello everyone,

I am new to Ubuntu Jaunty and just downloaded and installed 9.0.4, 5 days ago.

I decided to transfer my fotos to Jaunty and looked up the foto manager that was on the Application list under the Graphics heading, and got it figured out and was about to load my 3000 fotos the next day. Well that was when I decided to update the system, which I did to the tune of some 250 or so files.

After the update, the foto manager that I was going to use disappeared with the update.

So then I decided to install F-spot...

With the Gnome Add/Remove Applications, I tried to install f-spot and got ...

Cannot Install 'f-spot' This application conflicts with other installed software. To install 'f-spot' this conflicting software must be removed first. Switch to Synaptic Package Manager to resolve this conflict.

Then with Synaptic I got this error...

f-spot:
Depends: libflickrnet2.1.5-cil but it is not going to be installed
Depends: libmono-system-web2.0-cil but it is not going to be installed

The two file packages above are not installed, and I can't install them, either. I even downloaded the most up to date ones from Ubuntu site and couldn't get them loaded it. Obviously I don't comprehend what is happening. How can I delete those files if they aren't installed, and how can I install them if the system won't let me, and why (I wonder) are they on the list of available programs if I can't use them?

I am a electronics tech and have taken a few programming courses, and loved it, so please bear with me if I'm a bit slow. I really like this new Ubuntu. It is so fast and smooth - and so small (efficient?)

My wife has put the pressure on with the fotos. She is really starting to like Jaunty, so I gotta figure this thing out.

Thank you

zvacet
October 28th, 2009, 12:46 PM