PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way to learn Linux

Quick Silver
October 26th, 2009, 03:37 AM
I am not sure exactly where else to post this other then here so I appologiize if I posted it in the wrong spot. Anyways, I have some basic and general knowledge of Linux (ubuntu) and I am able to get around fairly well. However, I want to learn more. I really want to learn how Linux works. I want to learn what each part of the file system and its folder do. Why they are there and how they can help me to get the most out of Linux. I have read a few suggestions like trying slax or gentoo and arch. I believe I read somewhere to start with arch then move to gentoo, then LFS. I really just want to get your opinion of where I should start and how I should progress. Also what are the advantages of learning from each of these different distros and are they going to help me learn linux overall or just their system and way of doing things.

mivo
October 26th, 2009, 03:43 AM
For me it was installing Arch Linux on a spare machine with the Wiki for assistance.

ndefontenay
October 26th, 2009, 03:49 AM
This is such a broad knowledge that it's hard to know everything.

I personally like cheat sheets. They tend to compile a set of useful information on one page, such as the one in my signature.

As for the different folders, it's actually pretty simple. You'll find a lot of good explanation online. I'm sure you figured out the following already:

* / - root directory
* /home - where directories are contained for each user, example:
* /usr - pronounced 'user' and contains Linux commands and utilities
o /bin - binary executable programs
o /lib - program libraries, similar to Windows 'dll' files
o /sbin - more executable programs and Linux utilities for administrative purposes
o /doc - documentation
o /src - source code to programs
* /tmp - temporary work files
* /etc - configuration files
o /rc.d - scripts used during boot and shutdown process