PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] LXDE distros: U-lite or should I wait for Lubuntu?

Lavabug
October 24th, 2009, 11:11 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm finally hopping aboard the ubuntu/linux train and getting the OS for my older laptop with very modest specs. I've already tried Xubuntu but didn't notice a significant improvement in speed over XP, so I want to try an even lighter version running LXDE.

When is Lubuntu coming out as an installable CD? Is the U-lite project any good? Is it worth waiting for Lubuntu or will U-lite do well as a permanent OS for my older laptop?

lazy-devil
October 25th, 2009, 02:08 AM
I don't know when we'll see Lubuntu. I'm hoping shortly after we see 9.10 come out. I have no experience with U-lite, but have been very pleased with LXDE running on 9.04 Ubuntu on an old Compaq tablet. The tablet was very slow with XP tablet edition. Changing to Xubuntu saw a slight speed increase, but the a much more stable operation. Changing from XFCE to LXDE saw real a speed increase. The RAM usage is much lower for LXDE.

Whenever Lubuntu comes out, I urge you to try LXDE now. Install plain Ubuntu with the Alternate installer CD, then install LXDE on top of that. I'm sure you'll like it. The minimal Ubuntu + LXDE installation is covered here:

http://wiki.lxde.org/en/Ubuntu

Chuck

XubuRoxMySox
October 25th, 2009, 03:23 AM
Lubuntu may be aiming to do only the LTS releases rather than every six months. If an official Lubuntu release doesn't appear by the end of November, it may not actually be released until April 2010 (the next LTS). Until then, "lubuntu-desktop" may be a metapackage available in Karmic. To get Lubuntu Karmic, install minimal Ubuntu, then

sudo apt-get install lubuntu desktop

Assuming that the metapackage will indeed be available with Karmic. If not, simply running LXDE on top of "regular Ubuntu" hugely increases it's speed and simplicity.