PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Potential for transparency?

dbowlin17
October 24th, 2009, 05:19 PM
I recently installed ubuntu, so i am rather new to this all. I was able to make the top and bottom bar be semi transparent to give it a more modern touch. However I am looking to do that to the menu bars on my windows. Is that possible? Please keep in mind, i have very limited programming skills (next to none).

MelDJ
October 24th, 2009, 05:24 PM
right click the panel and press properties
then press the background tab. then slide the style to how opaque or transparent you want the panel to be

dbowlin17
October 25th, 2009, 05:52 PM
ah, i see that. thank you. but I am talking about the window, so I want to make it be semi transparent where it says ubuntu forums - reply to topic - mozilla firefox and where it has the minimize, maximize, and close buttons. I don't know it if it possible, but i would like to find out.

Nate8nate
October 26th, 2009, 01:10 AM
I think you that you may need to use a different theme if you want the title bar partially transparent.

Gnome-Look (http://www.gnome-look.org) is a good resource.

The title bar is drawn by Metacity, and the buttons and such inside windows are GTK.

To install a theme open System -> Preferences -> Appearance and drag the downloaded _____.tar.gz to the Appearance window.

twright
October 26th, 2009, 01:12 AM
If you install the now rather outdated emerald theme manager you will have the option to do this and more.

MelDJ
October 26th, 2009, 06:55 AM
If you install the now rather outdated emerald theme manager you will have the option to do this and more.

+1
change the opacity of your window to 0

mcduck
October 26th, 2009, 08:15 AM
ah, i see that. thank you. but I am talking about the window, so I want to make it be semi transparent where it says ubuntu forums - reply to topic - mozilla firefox and where it has the minimize, maximize, and close buttons. I don't know it if it possible, but i would like to find out.