PDA

View Full Version : Comment on my resume!

hellmet
October 24th, 2009, 07:37 AM
I'm trying to find a job as an Entry-level Linux Sys. Admin and I recently overhauled my resume after looking at a large number of resume samples. However, I feel my eyes might have got trained to my style of resume writing, and possibly my resume is a mess :) and I don't know!

It'd indeed be wonderful if you could take the time to comment on my resume.

Thanks!!

UPDATE:: Revised version, according to your comments and samples across the web, attached. See S.V.Resume-SysAdmin-v3.0.2.pdf

00ber n00b
October 24th, 2009, 07:41 AM
Is it common practice to expose gpa?

Dayofswords
October 24th, 2009, 08:34 AM
master of computer science
who wouldn't hire you?

part that confused me
"authorized to work in US"
I believe to work in US.. you just have to reported what you make as income when doing taxes

.......... i'm no lawyer...
good resume though

tylerspaska
October 24th, 2009, 08:57 AM
IMO:

Your resume should only be one page.

Your resume is not your interview. It's only a piece of paper that is used to get you the interview. It should act as enticing bate to the potential employer

You have too much information under your previous work responsibilities. Also, you should be telling what you accomplished with your time at each job, not what your responsibilities were. They key here is to sound interesting enough to be interviewed.

I have seen some cool resumes that are in the form of infographics. If you can pull it off it will certainly get you in the door, and that's what a resume is for.

As for the GPA it is common practice to put it in the resume if it exceeds 3.0; which yours does. However, it is not required. If the employer wants to know what it was they'll ask.

I also like to see other interests, to see that candidates are multi dimensional, which you somewhat have under "Other Info".

I would, at the very least, add some vertical lines to add aesthetic appeal.