PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 2 ubuntu installations?

praytor
October 24th, 2009, 06:26 AM
Hi all, I'm new here and was hoping I could get some advice on partitions and stuff. I have zero experience in this kind of thing so hopefully you can bear with me. My computer has Vista installed on a single hard drive. I want to install an SSD in another drive bay, and then install Ubuntu on both drives. In other words I would like the final layout to look something like this:

Disk 1 (Hard drive):
[Vista partition | Ubuntu partition | Swap?]
Disk 2 (SSD):
[Ubuntu partition | Nondescript, unformatted partition?]

I would like to be able to set up my computer to boot into any one of the 3 systems. Is this possible and is it difficult? Any caveats/dangers I should know?

To take another approach at asking this question, I might explain what I hope to achieve by doing this. I need to do a class project on studying the effects of caching hard drive contents on an SSD (so the SSD acts as a new persistent layer between the drive and the RAM). To do this, I would need to look at performance without SSD caching (pure Disk 1 Ubuntu partition), performance with SSD caching (Disk 1 Ubuntu partition with Disk 2's unformatted partition used for caching), performance using pure SSD (pure Disk 2 Ubuntu partition).

Am I going about this the wrong way or is the layout I suggested reasonable? What would be a good webpage to get an idea of how to partition my computer this way? I guess I also need to tweak the BIOS?

urugTON
October 24th, 2009, 10:22 AM
No it's not hard and no you don't have to tweak the BIOS. The notebook I'm running on has Ubuntu 8.10 (soon to be 9.10) and 9.04 installed on it. Effectively all you do is install Ubuntu twice. The first time you specify that Ubuntu is to be installed on the hard drive and the second time tell it to use the SSD.