PDA

View Full Version : Ruby Qt QThread Class???



davertron
October 22nd, 2009, 05:44 PM
Does ruby qt not implement the QThread class? If I try to subclass via something like:



require 'Qt'

class MyThread < QThread
...
end


I get "'const_missing': uninitialized constant Qt::QThread (NameError)", which sounds to me like it's not even implemented. Is there another way I'm supposed to be doing this? If I use regular ruby threads, how do I integrate this with Qt to make sure I'm not locking up the interface, etc.?

davertron
October 22nd, 2009, 05:56 PM
From #kde-ruby:



<rdale> ...ruby 1.8 threads aren't compatible with QThreads
<rdale> ruby 1.9 threads might be, but nothing has been done yet


So it sounds like you can't use QThreads in ruby qt. Bummer! Does anyone have suggestions about a similar way to accomplish not locking up the gui using regular ruby threads?

davertron
October 22nd, 2009, 09:14 PM
Just in case anyone was curious, you can achieve similar results using either QTimer or QProcess. QTimer works great if you have something you want to fire off at a designated timeout, and QProcess works well if you have a one-time, long-running job you want to kick off and not lock up the UI.

If anyone is curious for an example, just let me know.