PDA

View Full Version : Couple Python Questions...

DirtDawg
January 28th, 2005, 08:12 AM
So, forgive me for my ignorance, but I'm by no means a good programmer. I am strictly a tinkerer.

First: is there anyway to produce a "beep" from a linux box in Python? I would like to use a sound as an alarm after a set amount of time, but the Docs say nothing about a "beep" function. I did find a few modules concerning sound (sndhdr, I think was one. A couple others), but after experimenting with a few files, screwing them up bigtime in the process, I realized I had no idea how to utilize those tools whatsoever.

Second: Gedit. I know this may not be the forum, but I can't figure out how to use auto-indents in gedit. I checked the auto indent buttons in the options menu, and I have the highlighting mode in "python", but there is no auto tabbing. Any suggestions?

Third: I just remembered this one. After creating a .py document, and chmoding (if that's really a word) the executive privledge, when I double click the python icon, I get a prompt asking if I would like to run the program or edit the file. Is there anyway to set them so they launch on the selection? Maybe deactivate the "write" privledge (hmm, i just thought of that)?

Anyway, sorry I'm a huge n00b and thanks in advance for any help.
Gratz. :)

Quest-Master
January 28th, 2005, 01:56 PM
First: If you install the package "beep" from apt-get, you can do a exec("beep") from Python and it should produce a system beep.

Second: Use ScITE. sudo apt-get install scite ;)

Third: I just keep a terminal open in the directory where my Python file is and just type in python filenamere.py whenever I want to run it.

DirtDawg
January 28th, 2005, 08:05 PM
ahHA!