PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Beginner worried about upgrade

peterkennett
October 22nd, 2009, 02:43 AM
I have a unusual problem and hope I can get some help with. I am a complete novice with Linux so I beg your patience.

I work in a highly secure office in which we have been given a PC with Ubuntu (V 7.04) installed. This PC is used just to play background music and I want to upgrade it to the latest vesion WITHOUT loosing any of the music on the hard drive.

Here's the kicker..

- The computer is not allowed to leave this secure office.
- It can not be attached to the Internet.

Is it possible to use a fresh install disk to overright the current OS so I don't loose the existing myusic files?

I wish to me able to play MP4 video files when I am done. I tried to simply install VLC but it wouldn't install on this older OS.

Everything I do must be off-line. I can download files at home on my Mac and burn them to CD.

Is any of this possible?
What steps should I take?

Thank you!

Peter

howefield
October 22nd, 2009, 02:52 AM
All of that is possible.

But if its sole purpose in life is to play music, why would you want to upgrade it ?

PS. You should be able to play mp4 files on it without a full upgrade.

KhanTG
October 22nd, 2009, 02:56 AM
I agree to howefield.. it is doing the job that it is supposed to do (assuming without issue), leave it alone.

That being said; you DID say that it is in a "secure" situation, you really shouldn't mess with it unles ordered to by the BOSS.

peterkennett
October 22nd, 2009, 03:00 AM
I agree, I would rather NOT mess with a working system. I just can't get the mp4 videos to play. I am probably just missing the codecs but I haven't been able to find a way to install them on an off-line system. Do you have a good link I can use?

The files are .MP4 H.264 videos.

Thanks!

Peter

PS: I am the boss.

KhanTG
October 22nd, 2009, 03:25 AM
did a quick troll of various sites.. don't know if this will work