PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB Error 22

chris.reid
October 22nd, 2009, 12:04 AM
Here is what I have done and some of the issues I am up against.
Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

First of all I am using a shuttle xpc and cannot boot from a live cd because of the bios.
So I have a working USB Live bootable that seems to be working (but i cannot have any hdd's plugged in when it boots)
I have an external firewire that I use to access my main hdd when using the USB Live.

ok, now on to the problem.

previously when I installed ubuntu while installing it did not install to my 100gb partition I had created for it, instead it used a 10GB partition that I was going to use as a swap.
I got ubuntu working great as I am a noob and really trying to get familiar with it.
I installed apache, mysql, php, connected python cgi and also had it working perfectly with dynDNS. Basically this is why I wanted to try linux was to host my own server for Subversion and apache cgi access. Well like I said I had it all working, but was starting to run out of space on the 10GB partition.
So since I wanted to go through the process of backup disk imaging I read some articles and thought this is a good time to try it out. So that I don't have to reinstall and set it all up again (which wouldn't be that bad).

I used dd to create 2 images (out of curiosity)

#BACKUP:
dd if=/dev/sdb8 | gzip > /mnt/BKUP/UBUNTU.bin.2009.10.21.bin.gz
dd if=/dev/sdb8 > /mnt/BKUP/UbuntuImage.2009.10.21.dd
Then changed the partitions by using gparted on my USB live that works.
Remember my main hdd is connected as firewire (don't know if this matters)
I made the boot partition

100GB Ext3 (set its flag to boot) now /dev/sdb1 ** used below

Also created some other partitions for data storage and swap.

10GB swap
100GB Ext3 (storage)
250GB Fat32 (storage)

#RESTORE: (notice that I repartioned everything and sdb1 was the new boot partition)
dd if=/mnt/BKUP/UbuntuImage.2009.10.21.dd of=/dev/sdb1