PDA

View Full Version : Windows not sucking as much?

hambone79
October 21st, 2009, 09:47 PM
I have been a die hard Linux user on my home computers for the past 10 years and I have been using it exclusively for the past 6 years. My only experience with Windows in this time was through my previous job. I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade, and the corporate configuration of Windows at my old job made running our CAD software an absolute nightmare. Couple that with the lack of competent IT support and I was left with a very bad opinion of Windows...especially Windows XP.

I lost my job a few months ago so I decided to get into the contract engineering business. I started out running the CAD software in Linux, but was forced to buy a machine running Windows since the newer versions of the software no longer support Linux. I have now been running Windows XP as my primary design environment for about a month and I have to say...it doesn't suck that bad! Could it be that the morons at my previous job screwed up the corporate hard drive image that badly? I think this is the case because I'm using the exact same hardware I was using before..only it doesn't suck.

Anyone else have a similar experience?

JDShu
October 21st, 2009, 09:50 PM
That sounds like it makes sense... 6 years translates to 6 years worth of bug fixes right?

NoaHall
October 21st, 2009, 09:52 PM
Or 6 years of bugs being made and viruses finding holes. Anyway, I agree, I like Windows now. Never liked XP, but vista and 7 are great. Ish.

LowSky
October 21st, 2009, 09:54 PM
Um... hmmm 6 years away form Windows, you missed give or take two service packs. Also you don't have the the same anti-virus or corporate software included. Your machine is at least twice as fast, to make things run even better.

So its not that Windows got truely better, but that your using it in a different enviroment.

Screwdriver0815
October 21st, 2009, 10:13 PM
which CAD software do you use?