PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Installing minimal desktop version with no X (GUI)

tomsimmons
October 21st, 2009, 09:00 PM
Evening All

I wonder if anyone could shed any light on performing a fairly minimal install?

Pretty much all I think I'll need is...

Networking
Sound
Bash
Java
Text Editor
Command line WAV record and play back.

The hardware is a EPIC MII 6000 with 512MB memory and a 4GB CF through an adapter in the IDE, and a CD Drive.

Thanks

Tom

compiledkernel
October 21st, 2009, 09:10 PM
http://gwos.org/udsf/doku.php/script:minimal:automated

Included a little script, that should suit you just fine.

tomsimmons
October 21st, 2009, 09:29 PM
http://gwos.org/udsf/doku.php/script:minimal:automated

Included a little script, that should suit you just fine.

Blimey - now that's what I call a quick reply!

Thanks a lot.

Now at the risk of sounding a complete plonker, I have to confess I'm new to Linux, I have been using and configuring a GUI version after a plain install from the 8.10 CD, but how I use your script I'm not sure?

I've found the Minimal CD, but how would I use your script with it?

Thanks

Tom

PS
I know that getting involved with this isn't ideal for a new start, but this is actually for a dedicated machine that I'll be controlling through commands sent via the Serial port and handled by either Bash or a Java program.

compiledkernel
October 21st, 2009, 09:38 PM
You do the minimal install proper, then use the script (modified to your liking) to do the install the rest of the way.

I believe when the minimal installer boots, you need to tell it to do a CLI install only.

tomsimmons
October 21st, 2009, 09:42 PM
You do the minimal install proper, then use the script (modified to your liking) to do the install the rest of the way.

I believe when the minimal installer boots, you need to tell it to do a CLI install only.

OK.