PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to burn to CD, but zip files are messing me up. Help?

losthighway
October 20th, 2009, 07:20 AM
Hi. I installed Ubuntu 8.10 on my laptop already, however I did it with a USB drive.

My friend saw my Ubuntu and wants it on his desktop, but his Dell doesn't have the option to boot from USB. So I am trying to burn Ubuntu onto a disc. But I am having a problem: whenever I download Ubuntu, it saves as a Winzip file. I assume I have to unzip it in order to burn it to CD, but every time I do that, it unzips in a dozen or so different folders, like filesystem and filesystemsquash and casper, etc. Every time I've seen someone burn Ubuntu on a tutorial on youtube, it is always one file...mine unzip all over the place. I'd really like to get Ubuntu on my friend's desktop...how do I fix this? What am I doing wrong?

And yes, I know I'm a noob. :)

mechro
October 20th, 2009, 07:23 AM
You need to download an ISO file.

Can you show me the link where you're downloading from?

Are you doing this in Windows or Ubuntu?

dvlchd3
October 20th, 2009, 07:26 AM
Where are you downloading Ubuntu from? If you are downloading from ubuntu.com, you should be downloading a ISO file. You can then burn it with your favorite CD burning software.

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download

losthighway
October 20th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Hmm I getting it from http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download and selecting the 8.04 since his Dell is a few years old. Whenever the download option comes up (I'm doing this on Windows) it says Open file using Winzip (default) or save file. Either way, it saves to my computer as a Winzip file. :(

mechro
October 20th, 2009, 07:39 AM
Hmm I getting it from http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download and selecting the 8.04 since his Dell is a few years old. Whenever the download option comes up (I'm doing this on Windows) it says Open file using Winzip (default) or save file. Either way, it saves to my computer as a Winzip file. :(