PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with 8.04 install with NVIDIA geforce 7400 graphics card

mnia
October 20th, 2009, 04:51 AM
Hello.
Firstly, I'm a newbie, so please use small words :-)

I'm trying to install ubuntu 8.04 on my Dell XPS 1210 laptop. I have run into problems with the graphics card which is a NVIDIA geforce 7400 card.

When I start the computer, I firstly get the message:
"There was an error loading the theme Human. Can't open file /usr/share/gdm/themes/Human/Human.xml"
which I assume is because my graphics card driver isn't set up correctly.

I then go the the login screen, which is a low graphics screen (not the usual brown ubuntu screen), that has a yellow flower on a blue background. When I login, everything is crappy resolution (and I can't change the screen res) and a file manager window flashes on and off before disappearing.

Following the advice in several threads, I installed envy, and then selected the option: "Install NVIDIA driver" (using the automatic detection setting). Envy completes this, but when the computer is restarted I get the same problem.

I have tried going into System>Administration>Restricted Drivers Manager and disabling the NVIDIA driver, then restarting. Didn't help. I tried enabling it then restarting. Didn't help. I tried disabling the driver, then running envy again.

After enabling the driver, when I restart, I get the following message:
Ubuntu is running in low-graphics moded. Your screen and graphics card could not be detected correctly...
I then select the configure button and choose the Graphics Card tab, where I specify the driver to be the Nvidia 7-series driver (I tried both open source and restricted options). Doesn't work, but i'm not sure I'm manually selecting the right one.

I also tried uninstalling linux-restricted-modules & nvidia-kernel-common, then reinstalling them ...following the advice in http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1277880&highlight=nvidia+geforce+7400+install+8.04+hardy