PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] eclipse

Quaker
October 18th, 2009, 09:55 PM
Hi all,

I've installed karmic beta version and a strange thing happened i'm a developer and i've copied my galileo version of eclipse into the new karmic but when i try to create a new project the wizard just gets stuck...

So i've tried to download the eclipse from the repositories the same thing happened i can't create new projects... no errors no nothing?? can anyone help me?

i've used a password to encrypt my home folder.... a new feature from ubuntu

thanks in advanced

cherva
October 18th, 2009, 10:02 PM
You can try to:

1) Try to only save a file to test if there is a bug and eclipse can't write to the file system.
2) Run eclipse from terminal and search for errors there when you create a new project.

Quaker
October 20th, 2009, 09:08 PM
It's possible to create a file i just can't create projects this instalation was running fine in the previous instalation (jaunty)

when i run from the console, with sudo, the result is the same...

watchamcb
October 22nd, 2009, 06:39 AM
Hi,

I am having a similar problem but I it seems to be an issue with Eclipse/Java not registering mouse events on certain buttons. If you use the shortcut key for the button (Alt+underlined letter - Alt+n for example) then the wizard continues.

The Eclipse installed through apt-get does not appear to have this problem (I also reinstalled sun-java6) but this version does not refresh certain screens (like the software updates) so you can't install the latest plugins. This also seems to be a problem with various other Java apps.

Hope that helps.
Craig

sloggerkhan
October 22nd, 2009, 06:46 AM
maybe it needs a different jre than what's installed default?

Quaker
October 22nd, 2009, 07:52 AM