PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Why have upper and lower tool bars gone??



toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 01:27 PM
lost my upper and lower tool bars...how do i get am back? thanks... also if i "min" my active window it just disappears...(no lower bar for it to drop into.)
i attached a screen shot of my desktop to show the "missing" toolbars...all else seem to work ok...I have to right-click on desktop to reach my applications??? very strange??

I finally got this distro where i want it as far as looks and packages! ... if i run live cd , will i loose all my work?t ...btw...at start-up if i choose "New" session, all is fine. ,,, if I choose "Default" session, I wont see any upper or lower Bars on the Desk-Top. I have this listed in the "General Forum" also....lots of lookers but no help yet... Thanks to All Paul :confused:

bulldog
October 18th, 2009, 01:32 PM
Can you take a look at what resolution your screen is on?
Maybe they are just outside of your screen?

sisco311
October 18th, 2009, 01:35 PM
Press Alt+F2 and type:

xfce4-panel

Go to Xfce Menu -> Settings -> Session and Startup -> Session tab
and set the xfce4-panel Priority to 40 and the Restart Type to immediately.

Close the unneeded applications and save the session.

toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 01:49 PM
Press Alt+F2 and type:

xfce4-panelGo to Xfce Menu -> Settings -> Session and Startup -> Session tab
and set the xfce4-panel Priority to 40 and the Restart Type to immediately.

Close the unneeded applications and save the session.
it's alreadyy set like this...

toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 01:51 PM
Can you take a look at what resolution your screen is on?
Maybe they are just outside of your screen?


how do i check that? nevermind....1440x900

sisco311
October 18th, 2009, 02:01 PM
open a terminal, press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-terminal

and post the output of:

xfce4-panel

You can also try to restore the default panels.


mv ~/.config/xfce4/panel ~/.config/xfce4/panel-backup

killall xfce4-panel
if the panel doesn't autostart, then press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-panel

bulldog
October 18th, 2009, 02:02 PM
In ubuntu menu: >system>preferences>display
I have to tell I use ubuntu Karmic but it should be something similar.
I presume you aren't logged in with the live cd are you?

never mind, lol

toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 02:22 PM
open a terminal, press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-terminaland post the output of:

xfce4-panelYou can also try to restore the default panels.


mv ~/.config/xfce4/panel ~/.config/xfce4/panel-backup
killall xfce4-panelif the panel doesn't autostart, then press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-panel


paulr@Toolman:~/Desktop$ xfce4-panel
xfce4-panel-Message: Xfce4-panel already running
paulr@Toolman:~/Desktop$

toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 02:56 PM
paulr@Toolman:~/Desktop$ xfce4-panel
xfce4-panel-Message: Xfce4-panel already running
paulr@Toolman:~/Desktop$

after reset and starting panel this is in termanal...

paulr@Toolman:~/Desktop$ xfce4-panel
I: caps.c: Limited capabilities successfully to CAP_SYS_NICE.
I: caps.c: Dropping root privileges.
I: caps.c: Limited capabilities successfully to CAP_SYS_NICE.

(xfce4-mixer-plugin:4455): libxfce4mixer-CRITICAL **: xfce_mixer_get_track: assertion `GST_IS_MIXER (card)' failed

(xfce4-mixer-plugin:4455): xfce4-mixer-plugin-CRITICAL **: xfce_mixer_plugin_set_card: assertion `GST_IS_MIXER (card)' failed

(xfce4-mixer-plugin:4455): xfce4-mixer-plugin-CRITICAL **: xfce_mixer_plugin_set_track: assertion `GST_IS_MIXER_TRACK (track)' failed

toolmanpaul
October 18th, 2009, 03:38 PM
open a terminal, press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-terminaland post the output of:

xfce4-panelYou can also try to restore the default panels.


mv ~/.config/xfce4/panel ~/.config/xfce4/panel-backup
killall xfce4-panelif the panel doesn't autostart, then press Alt+F2 and run:

xfce4-panel

Did all SUGGESTIONS posted here and panels are back! :P Thanks to all who responded.....Special Thanks to SISCO311...YOUR INPUT FIX THE PROBLEM!! The most valuble item we all have is our time..(once given we can never get it back). Know that your help is apprieciated!! Thanks again to SISCO and BULLDOG!!

Dantravels
October 27th, 2009, 01:50 PM
Did all SUGGESTIONS posted here and panels are back! :P Thanks to all who responded.....Special Thanks to SISCO311...YOUR INPUT FIX THE PROBLEM!! The most valuble item we all have is our time..(once given we can never get it back). Know that your help is apprieciated!! Thanks again to SISCO and BULLDOG!!
I can only add my thanks to this list but also if there were a way to put this higher up in the searchable ability, it might help others. I have at least 15 tabs open just now after searching for this holy-grail of an answer. Thanks again.