PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Making partitions in Linux

jothunder
October 17th, 2009, 09:24 PM
Hello people,

I am new to Linux and I am installing Ubuntu next to Windows Vista.
The problem i had when i installed everything is that my whole ext3 partition was full of installation data, so i can't install anything anymore. I installed the partition as ext3 and /. Should i make more partitions for the different files like, 1 partition for /boot and another partition for /home ?? And how big I need to make it, so i can install programs afterwards and work with them with getting the error of not enough disk space?? Help would be nice :)

Greetz

oldfred
October 17th, 2009, 09:32 PM
I think you are the third one today that I have seen with this problem. They really need to fix the install. You got bit by the slider that you have to move to make more space. Ubuntu will fit into about 4GB but we recommend 10GB unless you are installing lots and lots of big stuff. It also depends on whether most data like movies & music are in another partition.

HOWTO: 2.5 GB System Partition - What Went Wrong?
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=7658271

jothunder
October 17th, 2009, 09:35 PM
So i can't fix this? Making several partitions is not an option so i can install more updates, programs etc?

tpjk
October 17th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Hello people,

I am new to Linux and I am installing Ubuntu next to Windows Vista.
The problem i had when i installed everything is that my whole ext3 partition was full of installation data, so i can't install anything anymore. I installed the partition as ext3 and /. Should i make more partitions for the different files like, 1 partition for /boot and another partition for /home ?? And how big I need to make it, so i can install programs afterwards and work with them with getting the error of not enough disk space?? Help would be nice :)

Greetz