PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Firefox - Ubuntu 9.10 - Streaming Vido fix is?

Rolls_Canardly
October 17th, 2009, 02:02 AM
Total Noob here, trying to divorce myself from Windows.. LOVE the beta of Ubuntu 9.10 with Firefox 3.5. I have lots to learn, MUCH to look forward to. But for right now (please, old pros, I know you've heard this before but..)

How do I get this link to play in Firefox:
http://mackinaclive.com/

I've installed (so I thought) shockwave flash, java, totem etc (and probably made a mess of things) and even grabbed a Firefox plugin / add-on or two. Kinda the Noobie Spray-and-Pray method.

GOTTA be a short cut to getting that link to play video in Firefox.. thanks for any simple answers for now..

the.phantom
October 17th, 2009, 02:59 AM
if it makes you feel better
i can't play on that site !

and i can work flash on my 8.10 32 bit

might be a microsoft thing? i have a few sites that require I.E. or windows to work

did you go to applications/add/remove and install "ubuntu restricted extra's ?

can you work video at youtube?

mike555
October 17th, 2009, 03:01 AM
That site doesn't work for me ... it might be using "SilverLight" , which is only Microsoft.

Rolls_Canardly
October 17th, 2009, 04:00 AM
if it makes you feel better
i can't play on that site !

and i can work flash on my 8.10 32 bit

might be a microsoft thing? i have a few sites that require I.E. or windows to work

did you go to applications/add/remove and install "ubuntu restricted extra's ?

can you work video at youtube?

Youtube is running just fine.. and that Mackinac site runs on Windows IE, as well as FIrefox under WIndows without my having had to install Silverlight (at least not to my knowlege, Silverlight may have installed automatically, not sure) ... Also, I've not installed ubuntu restricfed extras.. will try that now.

Thanks for your ideas!

sandyd
October 17th, 2009, 04:36 AM