PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick a career :-) Enginerds please apply!

jessiebrownjr
October 16th, 2009, 06:19 AM
Hello!

I was in the navy and have pretty much a BS in electronics engineering technician degree.
I once upon a time knew the component level of all DC circuitry but no longer work in the field. I love the idea of programming and would love to hear from hardcore coders what they think of their job. I love technology and any aspect of it. I have limited experience in programming. Im currently teaching myself C. Don't know my love/hate level for it yet but I do know I love to create things. I want to know how things work, and how to create them. I know with C i'd probably just be relearning the wheel but help me out. I like linux and what it stands for, windows has always ticked me off. This is probably a vague post but, reply with what you are inspired to! :-) I love the hacking atmosphere of the net... Not that I want to *literally* break into systems illegaly but more so I want to know how its done and How I can outsmart the *hacker*. I --am-- a smart guy, so no challenge would scare me, but I don't know where to start.This means that I need *some* hand holding for about 5 minutes and then im off on my own to learn.. I recent switched to linux, took a crash course, and am learning C now.. what next if I may ask? :-) thanks for any help or advice guys! keep this forum in your favorites, im an active poster and love to learn! thanks!

fct
October 16th, 2009, 07:46 AM
Something like Computer Engineering or Comp. Science might be what you want.

I've studied "Informatics Engineering" in Spain and apart from your typical engineering stuff like algebra there were mandatory courses like CPU architectures and AI and a whole range of complementary courses that allowed you to specialize on your interests, like OS design or 3D programming with OpenGL.

You can learn on your own, but if you have the time and money for college it'll be worth it.

MindSz