PDA

View Full Version : Jobs For 14 Year Old Linux Guru

CRAY-4
October 16th, 2009, 01:37 AM
I am saving up to make an open source robot architecture project( very beta website http://cray-4.users.sourceforge.net/ )
however i am short by about $100(if not more), how could i make the money, also i am in school so i cannot devote too much time, however i enjoy fixing computers and fixing software problems and installing Linux, i am also a pretty avid coder so i can do very much but i dont know where to begin

Thanks in Advance.

SomeGuyDude
October 16th, 2009, 01:43 AM
You could mow lawns.

AllRadioisDead
October 16th, 2009, 01:46 AM
You could wash cars.

Kingsley
October 16th, 2009, 01:48 AM
I heard fast food is hiring.

pwnst*r
October 16th, 2009, 02:01 AM
do they still deliver newspapers door to door? could try that.

SomeGuyDude
October 16th, 2009, 02:03 AM
My cousin walked dogs one summer, made some decent money.

Vostrocity
October 16th, 2009, 02:04 AM
I heard fast food is hiring.
Don't forget you'll need a Workers' Permit.

For some more relevant suggetions.
-You could get 1000 subs on YouTube and become a Partner.
-You could make some pennies from AdSense if you already have a website.
-You could ask your parents to setup a PayPal tip jar if there is enough public interest in your project.
-You could make some really good templates for whatever blog service and sell them.

Sorry those probably won't get you to $100 anytime soon, but they're better than a bland kid job right?

Viva
October 16th, 2009, 02:04 AM
You could do some freelance programming work. There are a lot of programming jobs on the internet, you just have to look in the right places.

dragos240
October 16th, 2009, 02:10 AM
Or just tech support. Some people are computer illiterate.

shadylookin
October 16th, 2009, 02:18 AM
fix people's computers however that's mostly windows work.

Most places have laws against letting kids under 16 work at any "real job"