PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] System wont shutdown properly 9.10 beta

Lancelotet
October 15th, 2009, 03:45 AM
so im dual booting windows vista/ubuntu 9.04. Im very new to the ubuntu side of the tracks and since the install i have been overly impressed and just down right excited about everything ubuntu is and stands for! well any way i thought maybe i had a handle on most stuff so like anyone else i saw the new update 9.10beta and got excited and upgraded to it. Works fine as 9.04 did but when i go to restart of shutdown it gets to the "de-boot screen" and says asking to kill all processes yada yada yada then says deactivating swap and then says something about loop i/o then a series of numbers. anybody else had this problem. ran a chkdsk on windows and everything was fine saw an error of similar magnitude in a post but it was referring to ubuntu 7.xx something or other. any answers would be wonderful!!

kumar8O
October 16th, 2009, 12:00 PM
I have been getting same error.It has to do with Ext3. if you figure it out please let me know thank you

knitin777
October 16th, 2009, 03:29 PM
I am also sailing same boat. I guess this is beta bug, may they will come up with patch soon.

kalyogi
October 16th, 2009, 03:41 PM
I had the same issue. I forced to shut down and restarted it. it all fine now.

KitsuneDragon
October 18th, 2009, 05:33 AM
It seems I have the same problem and it is quite annoying since at one point I forced it shut-down and when I booted next time my Desktop icons were corrupt....
Does anyone know if there's a fix/patch or if there is a bug report filed about this
if a bug report has not been filed how would I file one at Launchpad?
Thanks for any help because I think that there are more people suffering from this problem than us...

AliTabuger7
October 19th, 2009, 03:47 AM
I thought it had something to do with being a wubi install, so made an actual swap partition and changed the fstab. Didn't fix it.