PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need major help installing gtk+ on ubuntu

bevilacq12
October 14th, 2009, 10:13 PM
I'm using Ubuntu 8.04, and I need to install gtk+ 2.18.2 for a development project. I am fairly new to Linux, and do not know much about the operating system besides basic functionality and configure/make/make install type things.

The application I am trying to install requires gtk, so my first thought was to use apt-get to download it. The install of libgtk2.0-dev was successful, but the program I am trying to run would not compile with it - the make fails due to my version of gtkadjustment.h not having definitions for gtk_adjustment_set_upper and gtk_adjustment_set_step. I tried every variant of gtk on apt-get that I could find, and none fixed this issue.

Google-ing for gtkadjustment.h, I saw that newer versions definitely have those two terms defined, so I decided to download and install a newer gtk+ version myself. I got gtk+ 2.18.2 and so-called installation instructions from the gtk+ website and set to work. 2 days and countless frustration later, I still cannot get it installed. I have had so many problems along the way it is unbelievable. I don't even remember the exact list of problems I surmounted, but here is my current installation order, and the current show-stopping problem.

Steps from a fresh Ubuntu 8.04 install:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install g++
pkg-config-0.23
make-3.81
jpeg-6b
sudo apt-get install zlib1g-dev
libpng-1.2.40
tiff-v3.5.7
freetype-2.3.11
libxml2-2.7.6
fontconfig-2.7.0
gettext-0.17
glib-2.22.2
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/lib/include
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib
sudo apt-get install libx11-dev
pixman-0.16.2
cairo-1.8.8
pango-1.26.0
atk-1.28.0
sudo apt-get install libxrender-dev
sudo apt-get install libjpeg62-dev
sudo apt-get install x-dev
sudo apt-get install libxt-dev
sudo apt-get install libxext-dev
gtk+-2.18.2