PDA

View Full Version : How to think in object oriented manner ?

krypto_wizard
February 13th, 2006, 04:32 AM
I was a C programmer till now. I am learning python now. I want to learn the concepts of Object oriented programming. I have read books but never done any real life project to get a feel it.

Now i am doing a project in python but my inability to think in object oriented way makes my python programs quite modular. I try to identify classes but after a while I realize that i just have 2 or 3 .py files and all of them get big. I tend to use lot of code in just one file which is not good. And then if I try to slplit code in various files and classes I mes things up. Mostly, the issue of variable being not able to access from other file crops up.

Do you guys have tips for novice coders like me.

All your help is greatly appreciated.

thanks

LordHunter317
February 13th, 2006, 04:53 AM
Start by defining your data structures first. What are you trying to model? What information about the model do you need to store?

Don't do this in code. Do it on paper. If you need structure, check out UML. Look at use case diagrams, activity diagrams, and then class diagrams.

After that, figure out what operations need to be performed on these data structures. I'll start with an example at this point. Let's say I'm doing a traffic simulation of a busy intersection. One of the things I might need to model is a car. The information I might need to store about a car is it's speed, current lane position, etc.

Behaviors might include braking, changing lanes, etc. From here, I can define my algorithims to perform these operations on the data.

Once you have all that, then you can define your actual classes.

Classes should be defined based primarily on behaviors: operations you want to perform on the data, instead of the data itself.

Note a behavior can be anything.