PDA

View Full Version : Ye old tablet.

AllRadioisDead
October 14th, 2009, 03:35 AM
Hey guys, I'm just on my HP TC4400 right now running xubuntu. I bought this guy about 3 months ago factory refurbished from a shop, it's my first laptop. I'm a student right now, in grade 12, and I kind of wanted a laptop as something to take with me on trips, or just lie in bed with (Like I am now :popcorn:). It does what I wanted, but not very well. There are next to no tablet PC tools for linux, (I know, there's xournal and cellwriter), but that's pretty much it. The battery life is just over 4 hours which is great, but it gets pretty hot, even just sitting on the table after a while. It's pretty bulky as well. I was just looking at possibly selling it on craigslist and getting a netbook or small notebook to replace it. I'm just looking for some opinions.
What would some of my options be for replacing it? Basically, anything around the 13" range will be great, with good battery life and doesn't heat up. Thanks!

nmccrina
October 14th, 2009, 04:58 AM
I'm not a big hardware guru, but probably any laptop is going to get hot.

My laptop is a HP Compaq Presario CQ50-140US and it is very compatible...I've had Windows, Ubuntu, Fedora, Arch, FreeBSD, Slackware, and now OpenSUSE on it, no problems. It might be a little bigger than you're looking for, though (I think it's a 17" screen).

myusername
October 14th, 2009, 05:08 AM
you can get an eee 904ha and replace the screen with a touchscreen pretty easily. there are some tutorials if you google

AllRadioisDead
October 14th, 2009, 05:11 AM
Thanks for the responses, Touchscreen is not a big priority for me anymore since linux has limited tools available. I'm looking at the eee PC's right now, they're nice but maybe a little small. I'm looking for something around 13", I believe the biggest eee is 11.6.

nmccrina
October 14th, 2009, 05:45 AM