PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need some serious installation help...

Mr.Morgan
October 14th, 2009, 02:06 AM
First time trying to switch from XP Home SP3 to anything else, and I could use some help. I don't really have the time to search through endless threads. I'm a noob, so be gentle. lol
I've got a Toshiba Satellite M35X-S161 using 1.30GHz and 480MB RAM. I've got about 50G hd space to work with and an Intel 82852/82855 GM/GME graphics controller. (The screen is broken, so I have a separate screen hooked up... if that makes any difference.)
I've tried downloading Ubuntu 9.04 directly to my laptop and running the installer. When that didn't work, I created a cd with the .iso file on it and ran it on the computer. Finally started getting somewhere; When I had restart the computer to finish installation, I selected 'Ubuntu' and got something about an init problem and the screen went black.
So I tried doing the same with 9.10. Uninstalled 9.04 and made a new cd. It seemed like I got further in the installation process, but when Ubuntu tries to start, the screen just flashes the orange Ubuntu background on and off.

Any help would be awesome.

dstew
October 14th, 2009, 04:39 PM
Try booting in Recovery Mode. Does it seem to boot OK? Recovery Mode is just a command-line interface, but if it boots, that means the problem is probably with the graphical user interface, and not with the Linux system itself.

Mr.Morgan
October 14th, 2009, 09:07 PM
Recovery mode for XP or Ubuntu? (Sorry =/) XP works ok, it's just when I try to finish the installation by rebooting my computer after selecting to boot Ubuntu, a black screen with the Ubuntu logo appears for a while, then the screen starts flashing the orange background and I have to restart my computer.

***Says 'Starting init crypto disks' and then flashes to orange bg, and back and forth.***

Mean anything?

dstew
October 15th, 2009, 01:50 PM