PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installer does not find my EIDE drive

SublimeHiPpOs
October 14th, 2009, 01:33 AM
Hello all. I'm a novice Ubuntu/Linux user, but pretty experienced in the Windows world. I've casually used Ubuntu in the past and want to install it on my new build.

The new system has two SATA DVD drives and two SATA HDDs, as well as an older 160GB EIDE drive that I wish to install Ubuntu on. The BIOS and Windows recognize all drives just fine, so I konw they're all working and configured correctly. I've tried having the EIDE drive as the master and on Cable Select, either way, the Ubuntu installer only recognizes my two SATA HDDs. Any ideas on how I can get it to allow me to install to the EIDE drive?

Thanks in advance!

lindsay7
October 14th, 2009, 03:59 AM
is the ide drive formatted? Are you going to have a dual boot system on this computer. If so are you going to put the os's on separate drives or on the same drive.

October 14th, 2009, 04:08 AM
Hello all. I'm a novice Ubuntu/Linux user, but pretty experienced in the Windows world. I've casually used Ubuntu in the past and want to install it on my new build.

The new system has two SATA DVD drives and two SATA HDDs, as well as an older 160GB EIDE drive that I wish to install Ubuntu on. The BIOS and Windows recognize all drives just fine, so I konw they're all working and configured correctly. I've tried having the EIDE drive as the master and on Cable Select, either way, the Ubuntu installer only recognizes my two SATA HDDs. Any ideas on how I can get it to allow me to install to the EIDE drive?

Thanks in advance!