PDA

View Full Version : OOPS... I think I put my INTRODUCTION in the wrong place....

ConXtionS
October 12th, 2009, 06:59 AM
Re: Introductory Posting
Hi.... Im Jim and I am a TOTAL LINUX NOOB.....

Im on my third week using linux..... I would love to say that its been fun, but to be honest it is very frustrating so far and there have been many times I have looked over at my beloved windows copies...

However, I am getting older and I do love computers so I am trying.

I live in a small town called Williamsport Indiana... We are about 40 mins from Lafayette, and hour plus to the west side of Indy, and 2 hours from chicago, or pretty much smack dab in the middle all the way to the west side of Indiana.

Unlike many of the folks using Linux, I am not doing so out of some kind of windows hate.... I simply want to learn....

My progects for this winter are to build the MYTH TV system and then put it out at my camp ground this summer so I can have some dang TV! I also want to make a Server to house all of my precious tv shows and divy them out to the people I like. The camp ground is threatening to get high speed internet so I might also want to make a hot spot with a walled garden so I can control lil Johnny.

I was in the US Army and then an electrician and then I owned a small Wireless Internet Service for a few years.

I am bearing down on 50, disabled, kids are grown, wife has at least three boy friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 1 brother.....

Anyhow, I am hoping to make some linux buddies...

I hope that is enough of an intro???

Be well guys

Jim

Mike54
October 12th, 2009, 11:31 AM
Hi Jim! Welcome to you from another newbie wanting to learn.

I'm on the wrong side of 50, myself. One grown son, a beautiful granddaughter and there's a Persian cat that comes out to complain about being hungry every now and again. As for that wife business, I've had a couple of them and don't really care for another. ;)