PDA

View Full Version : Samsung n120 microphone

diggeles
October 12th, 2009, 05:18 AM
Hi,

I am new to linux but I have installed the ubuntu netbook remix. All works great and many small configuration changes i can make later. I have one major problem which will make me have to go back to windows XP, the other problems i can either sort out eventually and/or live with

The problem is i cannot get the microphone working. I am using it as a travelling netbook so i must be able to use skype and keepass on it and other similar applications, managed to get keepass working (quite simple) but skype/microphone issue. Believe it or not the webcam works out of the box as does the sound (its extremely soft and i need that fixed to).

I have gone into the mixer and here were several options.

I uncheck the microphone with a cross through it. I have 2 listings. microphone front and microphone, both have a corresponding boost aswell.

I have tried everything and nothing works. With one it looks like it records but a computer tone comes out when i play sound. I am using the sound recorder packed with the netbook remix.

Could someone please help with this. Also i have done searching around here and i have not found any solution

QIII
October 12th, 2009, 06:07 AM
Are you using alsamixer?

diggeles
October 13th, 2009, 12:36 AM
I believe i am using the alsa mixer. When i click on the sound in the side the Device is listed as HDA Intel (Alsa mixer)....

I am sorry but new to linux and as such I am not to sure. If i click on the arrow different lists pop up:

Like Realtek (oss mixer) however the one which comes up when i open and close is the alsa mixer. So i am presumign i have that one selected as the default. I will try and attach a screen shot.