PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Complete newbie - Trying to install UBUNTU

schumacherisgod
October 11th, 2009, 03:03 PM
Hi,

I have a Dell laptop that won't boot into Windows anymore. It randomly started giving me the mysterious black screen with a cursor problem. So... there are a lot of files on there (mainly photos) that I want to save before I start all over again.

I've downloaded and burnt a Ubuntu CD using the ISO image using NTI CD & DVD Maker Gold and created it properly from the ISO (for 9.04). I put it into my messed up Dell and change the boot sequence and it gives me the Ubuntu menu. So far, so good. The problem though, is that this menu doesn't respond to the ENTER key. I can move up and down the menu with the arrows fine, so it isn't like the keyboard driver isn't loading properly. When I select 'Try Ubuntu without any change to your computer' (or any other option for that matter) and press enter, nothing happens. I've tried burning other CDs and it still won't work.

I have no idea how to get around this, and would really like to avoid taking the laptop apart and hooking the hdd up to another computer if possible.

Ideally I'd like to install Ubuntu so I have access to my files. I really don't want to lose any data. A dual boot system would be fine with me, as long as I can get to my files.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as this has been bugging me for days.

Cheers.

Mostly.Harmless
October 11th, 2009, 03:49 PM
Im also a newb, but I so frequently screw up my own computer that Ive picked up a few tips.

My tip for you is if a more advanced user helps you get that "enter " key problem solved, run a live session. From there you should be able to access your HDD and your files. Get an external and back up the necessary files.

From my albeit limited experience, ubuntu installer requires you to fiddle around with partitions during the install, its quite possible you could accidentally wipe your HD.