PDA

View Full Version : Why you shouldn't use Arch Linux

xArv3nx
October 10th, 2009, 11:27 PM
so, I just got done installing Arch Linux a few hours ago and had a problem, so I went to the IRC channel for some help.

[18:16] <Befolked> Does anyone know why whenever I suspend to ram, my desktop effects turn off when I resume the computer?
[18:16] <Ghost1227> Befolked: compiz fail
[18:16] <Befolked> Ghost1227, what?
[18:17] <Sharn> Befolked: because desktop effects are for ubuntards?

I'm sure this doesn't happen frequently, but two things here:

1) I'm not a newbie, I've been using Linux since I was 12 (MDK 10)
2) This happens a lot when I visit the IRC channel (and I'm not talking about this happening to just me)

Just a warning: If you depend on the community for tech. help, don't use Arch Linux.

dragos240
October 10th, 2009, 11:31 PM
*facepalm*
http://scienceblogs.com/insolence/facepalm.jpg

NoaHall
+1 for no community for Arch.

xArv3nx
*facepalm*
Great, thanks for your input.

dragos240
October 10th, 2009, 11:33 PM
I have asked that community issues time and time again, and they always provide the help I need. Even when I mess my computer up near the point of not being able to fix it.

xArv3nx
October 10th, 2009, 11:35 PM
I have asked that community issus time and time again, and they always provide the help I need. Even when I mess my computer up near the point of not being able to fix it.
Good for you.

wilee-nilee
October 10th, 2009, 11:36 PM
The IRC channels are not moderated what did you expect.

murderslastcrow
October 10th, 2009, 11:37 PM
Just imagine how they would treat Windows users thinking to switch. XD

ArchLinux isn't too shabby, though.

CJ Master
Yes, we should all judge a community because of one person.

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. But do not blame it on all of their community.

dragos240
Please. All I'm saying is that arch is a stable distro, and just because your experience wasn't the best, doesn't mean you should flame it.