PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Firefox/shiretoko issues

rob22941
October 8th, 2009, 11:34 PM
Well I was interested in upgrading to Firefox 3.5. I am relatively new to Ubuntu, so please excuse my ignorance on the subject lol. I went to mozilla.com did the upgrade and went on with my night (last). I now turn on my laptop and firefox doesn't work. A friend mentioned Shiretoko. Installed that. To make a long story short here's my issue:

I'd like to either upgrade to Firefox 3.5 or keep using 3.0 which is still on my computer but the links on the system tray are now dead. I do know where firefox 3.0 is in the filesystem. If someone can please guide me through replacing dead icons in the system tray I'd appreciate it.

Also I'd like to remove Shiretoko. In Add/Remove it says "one or more applications depend on firefox 3.5 branding...use the Synaptic package manager. I try to use the synaptic manager and everything is called firefox-3.5 or firefox, no shiretoko listed. Anyone have an idea here? I'm not sure which files to delete. THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Cheers

rob22941
October 8th, 2009, 11:43 PM
Well I figured out the icon problem, but this led me to another question. In my firefox-3.0.14 folder there are 2 items that puzzle me. 1 labeled firefox and the other firefox-3.0. Both open browsers and I can't figure out the difference between the 2. Any ideas?

jeremyswalker
October 8th, 2009, 11:48 PM
First, what firefox-3.0.14 folder? Where is it located?
Second, you won't find shiretoko in Synaptic. The package is called firefox-3.5.

rob22941
October 8th, 2009, 11:54 PM
Here is the location of the 3.0 folder:
Filesystem/usr/lib/firefox-3.0.14

I searched firefox-3.5 in synaptic and I get 855 results how do I know what to choose. If I simply delete the firefox-3.5 folder out of the file system will that solve the problem? I don't want to miss any parts.

jeremyswalker
October 9th, 2009, 12:25 AM