PDA

View Full Version : The top programs that need native Linux versions...

Grimhound
October 8th, 2009, 07:59 PM
#1: Steam

How: I am no coder, nor am I educated enough to know if this would work, but: If it had to come down to there being an inability to rewrite games to support OpenGL, then the best alternative would be for Valve to team up with WINE to in essence create a Linux-native version of Steam that has WINE integrated into itself. Therefore you would have a game running through WINE running through Steam rather than a game running through Steam running through WINE.

Post yours picks for programs that need native Linux versions.

Bachstelze
October 8th, 2009, 08:00 PM
The program doesn't need a native Linux version. You need a native Linux version of it.

xArv3nx
October 8th, 2009, 08:07 PM
The program doesn't need a native Linux version. You need a native Linux version of it.
i think linux users should take anything they can get. linux is bare enough as it is.

i'd love to see games ported, but mostly what i want is more commercial polish. the good thing is that ubuntu is getting there now (not there yet but it's getting there). other distros don't even come close except Xandros, and the now long gone Linspire 5.0 (which is still really nice for this day in terms of polish).

Tibuda
October 8th, 2009, 08:08 PM
The program doesn't need a native Linux version. You need want a native Linux version of it.

:lolflag:

xArv3nx
October 8th, 2009, 08:12 PM
:lolflag:
er, wait. wasn't that what this whole thread was about (posting your top apps you want ported to linux)?

Grimhound
October 8th, 2009, 08:17 PM

I just remembered hearing aaages ago about Valve hiring a project manager in regards to porting games to Linux, but nothing ever became of it.

Tibuda
October 8th, 2009, 08:17 PM
er, wait. wasn't that what this whole thread was about (posting your top apps you want ported to linux)?