PDA

View Full Version : Linux From Scratch

Warpnow
October 8th, 2009, 02:32 AM
So, I've been thinking about doing this. I have two machines at the moment. My nice, new, shiny core 2 duo e6750, and the machine it replaced- a pentium 2 300mhz machine. My thoughts are to use the older machine because, well, I don't want to mess up my primary machine. I've been using linux for 3-4 years, but still find myself boggled by things usually relating to the filesystem's structure, and I figure building a linux from scratch system will make me much more proficient in understanding linux.

What I wonder is...how large are the packages you have to compile for this? Will my old pentium 2 machine spend more time compiling packages than being worked on? I know some packages take quite a while.

How useful will my LFS system be? If I do it on my main machine, am I likely to eventually get to a point where the end product is comparable in stability and quality with Ubuntu or another distribution?

How long will it take me to get to that point?

Have any of you done it, what were your experiences?

scragar
October 8th, 2009, 02:45 AM
I wouldn't recommend jumping right into LFS, start with something like arch, which gives you a command line, but a very good package manager, when you are sure you understand that try gentoo, which puts more in your hands and actually compiles the files itself, and if that works out for you finally move onto LFS and do everything yourself.
Compiling will take some time, but it really depends on what you want, gnome and KDE are large projects, so the source will take a long time to compile on slow machines, fluxbox or wmii however will not take nearly as long.

Bachstelze
October 8th, 2009, 02:50 AM
You don't want to do a LFS on a 300 MHz CPU, it'll take forever. If I were you, I'd rather do it on the Core2 in a VM.