PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Graphics not working Fresh Install

Versial
October 7th, 2009, 03:46 AM
Ok, I am relatively new to Ubuntu, I have and home-made machine and I am trying to dual boot xp and 9.04. I cannot use the live cd or do and install from the original cd, it goes through the ubuntu loading screen, and after that my screen just looks all messed up with lines all over the place. I tried 8.10 with the same result. I did some research online and was told to try the alt. cd. which i did with no problems. However the same problem occurs when trying to load. So I did further research and was told to try dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg and dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg from the recovery mode. However the only thing that brings up is one yes or no question about my video and the rest is all keyboard questions. I have been fighting this for two days and I am really getting frustrated. Sorry long winded.

rreese6
October 7th, 2009, 05:47 AM
We need more information.
Boot up your system to recovery mode and go to the root prompt and type:

lspci | grep VGA
Type the output of that command here.

This will tell us which video card that you have. then we can go from there.

Versial
October 7th, 2009, 11:44 PM
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G71 [GeForce 7950 GT] (rev a1)

mikewhatever
October 8th, 2009, 01:47 AM
You may need to install the proprietary nvidia driver while in recovery mode. Try sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx-180. What it should download and install the driver from the repositories, but you'll need to be online for that.

Versial
October 9th, 2009, 12:33 AM
You may need to install the proprietary nvidia driver while in recovery mode. Try sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx-180. What it should download and install the driver from the repositories, but you'll need to be online for that.

I did this and it didn't help how do I know if that is even the right driver?

Meow27
October 9th, 2009, 01:59 AM