PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Triple Boot



Wa1k3rTXRang3r
October 6th, 2009, 08:46 PM
I want to install Ubuntu 9.10 on my laptop which already has Windows Vista and Fedora 11 on it.

1. Would it be possible to install GRUB on the first sector of the boot partition as it is during the Fedora install?

2. If i have already installed GRUB while installing Fedora, would Ubuntu even need to install it again?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sef
October 6th, 2009, 09:27 PM
1. Would it be possible to install GRUB on the first sector of the boot partition as it is during the Fedora install?


GRUB should automatically install on the first sector of your hard disk.


2. If i have already installed GRUB while installing Fedora, would Ubuntu even need to install it again?


GRUB will be reinstalled and should see Fedora and Windows. The default os will be Ubuntu.

oldfred
October 6th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Are you talking about the MBR or the partition. I am running XP and two copies of 9.04 (32bit & 64bit) and installed 9.10 but put the grub2 into the partition so I am still using my old grub and ubuntu 9.04 to boot. I then added a chainboot entry to link the the grub2 in Karmic's partition.

It depends on which grub you want in control. Grub2 should find all the operating systems but Fedora has had issues being found based on other posts.

To install Grub anywhere else that the MBR you have to select the advanced button on the screen to install grub.

Wa1k3rTXRang3r
October 7th, 2009, 01:14 AM
Thanks for the help.

Installation went smoothly. But GRUB does not detect my Fedora installation, which is a problem since I need for school lol.

Also, is there anyway to enable a driver for my NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M?

hantechbl
October 7th, 2009, 01:16 AM
Ususally in the install process the installer detects current the current OSes and will add them to it's boot loader.

Wa1k3rTXRang3r
October 7th, 2009, 01:42 AM
Yea I know, but it seems like it didn't this time. Maybe its something with GRUB, because I know that 9.10 uses a new version?

oldfred
October 7th, 2009, 05:08 AM
I found this before as the way it is supposed to work
Even still, the latest Karmic Alpha needs some help to find other os.
sudo apt-get install os-prober
sudo os-prober
sudo update-grub2

You do not have a menu.lst and the grub.conf is not to be edited.
Per Herman:
http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/p20/GRUB2%20Configuration%20File%20Commands.html
3. If you want to customize your /boot/grub/grub.cfg file yourself, you first need to edit either /etc/default/grub or one of the files in /etc/grub.d and then run 'sudo (http://members.iinet.net/%7Eherman546/p20/GRUB2%20Bash%20Commands.html#update-grub)update-grub (http://members.iinet.net/%7Eherman546/p20/GRUB2%20Bash%20Commands.html#update-grub)' or 'sudo grub-mkconfig (http://members.iinet.net/%7Eherman546/p20/GRUB2%20Bash%20Commands.html#grub-mkconfig)'.

Wa1k3rTXRang3r
October 7th, 2009, 01:51 PM
i installed and ran os prober and it still didnt find fedora lol

oldfred
October 7th, 2009, 06:00 PM
This thread asks the same question on Fedora, but I did not see an answer. I do not know Fedora but suggest installing Fedora's grub to its boot partition, and creating a custom entry as shown in Herman's site, and run the update grub command to incorporate the new file.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1186045&page=2


http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/p20/GRUB2%20Configuration%20File%20Commands.html


gksudo gedit /etc/grub.d/06_custom

#! /bin/sh -e
echo "Adding custom boot entry(s)" >&2
cat << EOF
menuentry "Chainload Fedora" {
set root=(hd0,1)
chainloader +1
}
EOF

Let us know if anything works.

Wa1k3rTXRang3r
October 7th, 2009, 11:14 PM
i actually decided that having 2 linux oses was rather redundant. so i kept ubuntu and removed fedora.

i can just virtualize fedora if need be.

thanks anyways!