PDA

View Full Version : Intelectual Property & Free Hardware

blur xc
October 5th, 2009, 11:29 PM
I work in the mechanical design industry, which means I design hardware. Various kinds, for various markets...

I just finished watching this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SNBMdDaYhZA&feature=related and at right around 7:40 he starts talking about how the four freedoms can't specifically apply to hardware, but- no hardware (ok, most hardware) doesn't exist w/o some intellectual property, which is in the form of engineering drawings and various engineering calculations, and spreadsheets, etc...

Every drawing I've ever produced contained this little note somewhere on the title block:

Copyright 2008 by <Insert Company Name> INC. All rights reserved.
Information contained herein is proprietery and CONFIDENTIAL and may not
be used with out express written consent from <Insert Company Name> INC.
In fact- on the first day of every job I've had as a Designer / Drafter, I signed an NDA (non-disclosure agreement), a confidentiality agreement, and some other document that stated any ideas I come up with while working at whatever company was the property of that company... IDEAS... My ideas are their property. They had a page where I could list ideas that I had come up with before my employment with them what would be exempt from that contract.

Now, it's pretty obvious how the four freedoms, as Richard Stallman states, can't apply to physical objects, at least not until the transporter and replicator are invented, but can it apply to engineering drawings and plans? Sure- you can buy a consumer product and attempt to reverse engineer it- but there's a lot of things that you can't, at least not w/o a great degree of trouble figure out, as in manufacturing processing, materials, material treatments, tolerances, etc...