PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu won't share hard disk

david53
October 5th, 2009, 06:21 PM
I have recently acquired my first computer, and I am new to GNU/Linux systems. I have tried to create a multi-boot system on an 80 GB hard disk. This is so I can simultaneously explore more than one Linux O/S.

Here is the partitioning I created:

Extended sda5 (holding only a swap sda2) 2.147 GB
Primary sda4 ext 29.8 GB mounted at /home
Primary sda3 ReiserFS 25.0 GB /boot
Primary sda1 ReiserFS 25.0 GB /

After installing Ubuntu, I discovered that Ubuntu seemed to have grabbed all of the hard disk space and would not share. While running Ubuntu sda1 and sda 4 were both occupied. Perhaps this is because I mounted the partitions within Ubuntu? (I am here making a guess. During the installation Ubuntu seemed to insist that each partition be mounted.)

How can I format the hard disk so that Ubuntu only uses one partition, leaving the other partitions for another O/S?
Thank you for any help you can offer.

raymondh
October 6th, 2009, 03:27 PM
I have recently acquired my first computer, and I am new to GNU/Linux systems. I have tried to create a multi-boot system on an 80 GB hard disk. This is so I can simultaneously explore more than one Linux O/S.

Here is the partitioning I created:

Extended sda5 (holding only a swap sda2) 2.147 GB
Primary sda4 ext 29.8 GB mounted at /home
Primary sda3 ReiserFS 25.0 GB /boot
Primary sda1 ReiserFS 25.0 GB /

After installing Ubuntu, I discovered that Ubuntu seemed to have grabbed all of the hard disk space and would not share. While running Ubuntu sda1 and sda 4 were both occupied. Perhaps this is because I mounted the partitions within Ubuntu? (I am here making a guess. During the installation Ubuntu seemed to insist that each partition be mounted.)

How can I format the hard disk so that Ubuntu only uses one partition, leaving the other partitions for another O/S?
Thank you for any help you can offer.

David53,