PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First Computer Build

zambiandreams
October 5th, 2009, 04:47 PM
I'm in the process of building my first computer from the ground up. I will freely admit that I am no hardware expert and I would like some more experienced users to check my potential parts list to make sure everything I have is compatible. I don't want to put everything together and not have my video card word with the motherboard, for instance. I am planning to install the 64bit edition of 9.10. Any obvious mistakes/components I should ditch?

AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor Model ADX620WFGIBOX -

GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard -

Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT2KIT25664BA1339

EVGA 01G-P3-N959-TR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives

SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Burner

Antec Sonata III 500 Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply

Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 2500:1

zambiandreams
October 6th, 2009, 04:06 PM
Bump. Really? No help for a first timer? :confused:

nss0000
October 6th, 2009, 04:27 PM
Yep ... experienced builders think n00bs need to suffer %^] . Really ... I'm about to do a build myself, and DO notice that you're using a very-new-CPU. Possibly the BIOS on your chosen mobo will-NOT support it without a **risky** BIOS-flash.

You need to hound-da-newgroups ( Toms Hardware is excellent ) for any reports of BIOS imcompatibility for your chosen CPU/mobo combination. Yes yes many builders successfully do BIOS-flashes , and consider it trivial. Good for them. But, some fail and destroy mobo function and you CAN'T fix it !!! The mobo is toast !