PDA

View Full Version : Python + cx_Freeze users ? (and an intro)

osgZach
October 5th, 2009, 12:45 AM
First some side notes: Jump to "The Problem" in bold, to skip the boring stuff.

(1)
I don't know if this goes in this forum more than a general support forum as I don't know if the problem is with my feezing process or an issue with my Kubuntu install. So apologies if this needs to be moved somewhere more appropriate..

(2)
I'd rather not get into a protracted debate about why I want to freeze my work to produce executables, especially on a *Nix OS where 95% of installs come with Python, or get into a debate about dependencies.. I just don't feel right telling people "if you want to try this out, you have to go find X, Y & Z, oh and X needs A needs D, and Y needs B, C, D, & E packages too.

That being said.. I am a new programmer (if you can call me that yet). I have always wanted to learn but struggled with self-teaching, did the whole blowing my parents money on books when I was in my teens deal, etc.. Never could pick up anything. But the past few weeks I have slowly been learning to use Python (Activestate 2.6 on Vista). I have made some pretty good progress, although I hit a phase where I was looking to jump ship to another potentially easy to learn language that was cross-platform and had an easy deployment process (unlike python it seems) or just going windows only and whatever else would make my life easier.

I still don't understand distutils, easy_install, etc.. Like a true Windows "slave" I'd rather compile EXE's and distribute them so they can be put anywhere, clicked and run.

Py2EXE works great for this. cx_Freeze also worked great for producing Windows executables as well. Problem is now trying to get a clickable EXE on Linux. Because I am really putting for an effort to be cross-platform.

The Problem