PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.04 to 9.10

dgrevillius
October 4th, 2009, 10:18 PM
Got a quick question. I am a Linux newbie. I am about to install Ubuntu for the very first time and I notice that 9.10 is about to come out. If I download and install 9.04 now, will it update, kinda like Windows Update to 9.10 when it is released, or will I need to format and re-install all over again? Thanks!

stephana
October 4th, 2009, 10:20 PM
you can update without formating ;-). The new Version will be available in the integrated Update-Manager.

dgrevillius
October 4th, 2009, 10:21 PM
Pwnage! Thanks!

dgrevillius
October 4th, 2009, 10:25 PM
Okay, one more question. On the download page, it says that 9.04 will be supported until 2010. So, will the upgrade to 9.10 through the update manager change that? I am a little confused I guess. What is with the LTS version?

stephana
October 4th, 2009, 10:33 PM
the actual version is 9.04, but 9.10 will be arrive this month.I'm not sure but i think when you Update you get the Support of the new Version :)

wilee-nilee
October 4th, 2009, 10:37 PM
Karmic has some changes which are rather great but may be best utilized with a fresh install once it has been officially released and is stable. Two changes are #1 grub2 which as I have read is not a big deal with upgrading if this is included, #2 but Karmic has a default ext4 rather then ext3 that your running with earlier releases. As of now the upgrade does not default to ext4.

I did a upgrade a few days ago and it took forever and my wireless didn't work with the standard network manager or third party wicd. Now if I was more knowledgeable on this issue it probably could have been fixed but it was not running correctly overall. In the past I generally just do upgrades rather then fresh installs, but when I have done fresh installs on the same computer as a test against the upgrade I have found the fresh to be a little snappier.