PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrading ubuntu on two laptops

jarrah-95
October 4th, 2009, 01:28 AM
i have two ubuntu laptops and have a caped internet connection so i only want to download it once is there a torrent or disk that i can download to upgrade but keep the same settings.
thanks

s3MA00RRNY
October 4th, 2009, 02:30 AM
Just download the new desktop disk and set it as a source in Synaptic.

jarrah-95
October 4th, 2009, 02:44 AM
isnt the proper way to use the alternant cd i have never done it before and was going to try it the way you said before but then ended up having to reinstall it because the cd whouldent upgrade it

cariboo
October 4th, 2009, 04:04 AM
You can use apt-cacher, it is in the repositories, it will allow you to download the updates once and then distribute it to other computers on your network.

jarrah-95
October 4th, 2009, 05:11 AM
2 questions about apt-cacher
1 will that let me install a full (system) update (as in upgrading from jaunty to karmic)
2 do i have to have a network connection between the two laptops as i only have one internet connection and cannot properly set up a ad-hoc network between them
thankyou

Lars Noodén
October 4th, 2009, 01:42 PM
2 questions about apt-cacher
1 will that let me install a full (system) update (as in upgrading from jaunty to karmic)
2 do i have to have a network connection between the two laptops as i only have one internet connection and cannot properly set up a ad-hoc network between them
thankyou

I would second cariboo907's suggestion of apt-cacher.
You may have to do some juggling. You did the main install from the CD.

Then install apt-cacher or apt-cache-ng on the first computer. Set it so that APT uses the apt-cacher proxy:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Apt-Cacher-Server

Test using 'apt-get update' and following the apt-cacher logs with tail, or your favorite method.