PDA

View Full Version : Python placing modules

McWeirdo
October 3rd, 2009, 06:12 PM
Hi,
I'm a bit confused as I'm new to python,apparently what's hard for me by "diving into python" is- how it works, and less the syntax(although I had problems at the beginning).
I'm using ubuntu 9.04 have python 2.4\5\6 3.0\3 installed pydev in eclipse and I also have ipython installed.

I've downloaded these examples :http://examples.oreilly.com/9780596009250/
and they wrote there that I need to add the folder into lib/site packages somewhere( they had directions for windows users not linux).

I was searching for it and finally I found the folder in usr/local/lib/python2.5/6/3.0 (the /6/3.0 indicated version number) but I couldn't copy the folder cause it says I have no permission .
I tried to edit the site-packages folder permissions and I couldn't cause It said I'm not the "owner", so how do I change that?

and am I doing it right?

another thing is the
#!/usr/bin/python

this ^^^^^ thing works ,and some of the python files from the example have this at the beginning , but some have #!/usr/local/bin/python and then when I run it through terminal it doesnt work( I mean i double click and then run in terminal).Is something wrong?

Thank You ,
MCW

wmcbrine
October 3rd, 2009, 07:27 PM
Your issues have less to do with Python, and more to do with Linux.

When the first line of a script starts with "#!", it's telling the system, "run this script with the program at this path". So if you have a /usr/bin/python on your system, but not a /usr/local/bin/python, then it stands to reason that the first would work, and the latter would not. Just edit the line to use the correct path -- or, nowadays, the preferred usage seems to be "#!/usr/bin/env python", which will find the Python interpreter wherever it's installed on the $PATH.