PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error 18 After Server Install

Flappi282
October 3rd, 2009, 01:41 PM
Hi. I am a newb at linux, because i have never worked with it before. but i can edit the BIOS and everything ok.
This computer has 1 new HDD, and NO DUAL BOOT
I just installed ubuntu server edition, which went well, except i couldn't connect via wi-fi. Didn't matter, moved on. I installed it on a new 200GB Maxtor hard-drive. I removed the old one, since my (really) old Pentinum III computer only had 1 3.5" Bay. The first time, the disc was scratched, and after partitioning, it brung up loads of package errors. I made a new disc, and the partitioner i think formatted the old partition and used that (I HAVE 1 PARTITION). After installing, i got a prompt to restart.
I did this, then afterwards i got this:

Verifying DMI Pool Data .........
Boot from ATAPI CD-ROM : Failure ...
GRUB Loading stage1.5

GRUB loading, please wait...
Error 18

And it hangs forever
Thanks in advance!

binary00mind
October 3rd, 2009, 05:55 PM
I have few questions.
First how old is your computer? How big was your previous/old HD disk? and last but not least the layout of your new Ubuntu installation partitions is needed...like where is swap? home? and so on...
After that I tell you what to do.

I give a link to read about error 18, so you can guess by yourself what i have in mind...
Here is a link: [url]http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/GRUB#Error_18

Flappi282
October 4th, 2009, 10:52 AM
My pentium 3 PC is about 6 years old
Specs:
512 mb ram
Pentium 3 Processor
Award BIOS
Energy* power unit.

I just followed a tutorial in PCPlus to turn an old PC into a server. I tried to install it 3 times, and i think i accidently made 9 partitions in total :oops:
I just need something to reset the harddrive, and join all the partitions, format then i can reinstall.
Does anyone know of anything i can use to do this?

rreese6
October 4th, 2009, 07:35 PM