PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Export user details and data to new server

pvee
October 3rd, 2009, 10:38 AM
hi

I m a developer in windows for long and last wk I started my journey in ubuntu world, but not an absolute beginner though. I wish someone here could help or point me to the right direction.

we have a ubuntu server (dedicated for our nightly build, unit test) crashed and the server is no longer usable but the hard disk is safe. I have instatlled ubuntu server on a new pc.
how do I copy existing user data to new pc..... at least a user "autobuild" group "autobuild" settings and data so that it will use all previous settings, data for the user to continue in the new build. Im sure it not trivial just like copying the prev home folder to the new pc and create new user with the same name ?
(thought asking gurus here because I just dont want to loose any data or setting just incase I do something wrong)

thanks in advance

pvee

akakingess
October 3rd, 2009, 11:35 AM
Actually, it should be that easy, that is why during installation I create a seperate /home partiton, if anything crashes, then I just do a reinstall and all my personal data is safe. You may have to reinstall some software, but whatever personal settings there were should still be in your home folder, just be sure to get the hidden stuff, too. View hidden by hitting CTRL +H while browsing your home directory.

ermeyers
October 3rd, 2009, 12:02 PM
hi

I m a developer in windows for long and last wk I started my journey in ubuntu world, but not an absolute beginner though. I wish someone here could help or point me to the right direction.

we have a ubuntu server (dedicated for our nightly build, unit test) crashed and the server is no longer usable but the hard disk is safe. I have instatlled ubuntu server on a new pc.