PDA

View Full Version : hello everybody..

nothingman02
October 2nd, 2009, 04:07 PM
Am an absolute newbie and just wanted to get in here and say hello....

Although from a mech engg background, I have recently opted to change my career to the field of Computers...Unfortunately, the only thing I have now is the interest and enthusiasm backed by very little knowledge.I have learnt the basics of OS, h/w and programing etc myself and have just installed ubuntu (jaunty) and completely removed vista on my lenovo g550 (works right out of the box including wireless - for anybody curious about distros for lenovos).

ANyway, I am seriously contemplating a career as a Sys admin but am aware that I would have to start off at a lower level. I am planning on some certs such as LPIC-1 or RHCT. THe problem is that I am very new and having trouble figuring out WHAT to learn and what to IGNORE. Its vast and time consuming and looks like a continuous learning process. Are there any steps in this learning process? As in what to learn and when?

As mentioend, I have learnt the basics of OS, basic linux commands nad and am trying to understand the file structure and this is where I am getting stuck. I cant seem to understand -
1) Most of the directories and their sub directories. Ex: etc, usr, var etc.
The trouble especially is with respect to the outputs the shell spits out for any commands. Cant understand these outputs.

SO, do I need to know programming? Do I need to study 'linux internals'? ANything in particular? I need some procedure. Some sort of a guide/steps for studying and any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks for the help.

LowSky
October 2nd, 2009, 04:22 PM
Welcome to the forums.

Why do you want to be a system administrator?