PDA

View Full Version : Game-engines that can target (or run on) Linux?

ucoder
October 1st, 2009, 04:59 PM
Hi!

I'm not sure if this is really the correct forum, but I'll ask anyway :)

Are there any game-engines around that can target linux? Or better yet, run on linux and can target it?

I use Unity3D on windows, but that can't even target linux currently, although quite a lot of other platforms are supported. I've also been looking at Torque3D, but I guess the same applies to it.

hessiess
October 1st, 2009, 05:50 PM
Irrlicht is pretty good, Ogre and crystal space are two more.

ucoder
October 1st, 2009, 06:08 PM
Hey, thanks!

Do you have experience in using these? I mean, which one is considered the most advanced or "active" currently?
I have no experience in any of these, just Unity3d currently.

And what about things like physics engines? COLLADA support? (this Irrlicht mentions to support it) Any differences there?

Thanks again!

hessiess
October 1st, 2009, 06:50 PM
Hey, thanks!

Do you have experience in using these? I mean, which one is considered the most advanced or "active" currently?
I have no experience in any of these, just Unity3d currently.

And what about things like physics engines? COLLADA support? (this Irrlicht mentions to support it) Any differences there?

Thanks again!

Irrlicht is the only one I have used and is very easy to use (I was using Irrlicht *before* I learnt the details of C++:) ) and its active on the development side too. Physics engines are just external programs which can be linked into and used with a graphics engine, there are a number of tutorials for integrating irrlicht with different physics engines.

Regarding collada, support, can't say because I haven't used it.

ucoder
October 1st, 2009, 07:37 PM
Alright, thanks again!

I will definitely check out Irrlicht - judging what's on their web site, it seems pretty cool :)