PDA

View Full Version : Help me with university tips

Странник
September 30th, 2009, 08:19 PM
So guys I'm starting university in Athens,Greece. In a week I'm going to start a language course in order to quickly learn the language, in order understand my lectures.
My programme is Psychology,Philosophy and Pedagogy, so it's not really easy.I have been in high school, but that is not university.
Please give me tips on Note taking . I have some small experience in pen and paper, but is that efficient? Is it worth it to get a netbook and type on that or should I buy a small tablet?
btw if you are going to offer me the netbook option, all apps and stuff need to work 100%.So no wine apps or virtualbox please.

PS
I have a 15,6 inch laptop (3kg) and a scanner already

SuperSonic4
September 30th, 2009, 08:23 PM
I'd stick with pen and paper, it's more efficient in time (plus the battery will never die) and it's easier to write Greek letters with

Странник
September 30th, 2009, 08:25 PM
You are right about the greek. Typing every word's accent...

schauerlich
September 30th, 2009, 08:31 PM
Different classes require different types of notes. For my linguistics class, I can take notes easily on my laptop because, surprise surprise, most of the notes consist of words or IPA symbols. I had to download a character palette for the IPA alphabet, but I haven't run into any major issues with it so far.

Now, some subjects, like math, where you have to write a bunch of symbols that aren't easy to make within your word processing program, are better taken with pen and paper. This also applies to chemistry and physics for similar reasons.

Kingsley
September 30th, 2009, 08:31 PM
Copy notes down quickly in your own words. Also, pay attention to important things that the instructor stresses and write that down too.

RaZe42
September 30th, 2009, 08:45 PM
Copy notes down quickly in your own words. Also, pay attention to important things that the instructor stresses and write that down too.