PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Custom build hardware suggestions

TimmyJ
September 30th, 2009, 02:55 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm currently in the process of choosing hardware for a new ubuntu desktop build and I was looking for some suggestions. I'm a software developer that will use the computer primarily for that purpose. I want something that really burns as far as speed goes and has beefy enough graphics to handle a large monitor and compiz without any slowdows (I don't game though, so overkill on graphics isn't necessary). My budget is around $1000 but anything cheaper that fits the bill is definitely welcome.

If you make a suggestion please try to elaborate on why you are suggesting this particular hardware.

Some of the type of suggestions I am looking for:
-Motherboard + CPU combo: intel vs amd, dual core vs quad core, etc.
-RAM: how much? DDR2 vs DDR3
-Graphics card: I know next to nothing about graphics cards, any tips are welcome
-HD: SSD isn't really an option for me for the time being so I'll probably stick with a 1TB SATA or something similar
-Case: I want something relatively compact (mid-size tower is fine) that is not too flashy and is quiet.

...anything else you think would be useful to know

Thanks for the help!

Littleweseth
September 30th, 2009, 04:16 PM
Pre-note : this is in the wrong forum, as hardware choices have little to do with installation or upgrading Ubuntu. </note>

What follows is personal opinions grounded in my experience building a machine for the same purpose as you, for under $1000 australian (which is WELL under $1000 USD.) ;)

My budget didn't include a monitor (as i already have 2x LCD's), nor any other peripherals. I built my computer to be reliable in operation and to *last*, so I valued reliability over cheapness.

Case:
Grab yourself a MicroATX case of some kind; they're easier to stash away/lug around, and cheaper to boot.