PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Xubuntu won't boot

sirloganthestud
September 30th, 2009, 01:36 AM
Hello all! I am new to the forums and linux in general, but not new to computers. I have had no previous experience with linux, so bear with me. I have an old HP pavilion 733n desktop running Windows XP Home Edition with the following specs:

AMD Athlon 2400+ (2.0 GHz)
512MB of Ram
120 GB Western Digital HDD

It runs very slow, so I wanted to install linux so it would run faster. My family uses it mainly for web browsing. I downloaded xubuntu and burned the iso image to a CD-R disc. When the Xubuntu screen came up, i chose "Install Xubuntu". When I did, the next screen came up with this:

[17.116029] ata1.00: revalidation failed (errno=-5)
[27.280027] ata1.00: revalidation failed (errno=-5)

After a short delay, the xubuntu loading screen came up. But soon after this screen popped up:

[17.116029] ata1.00: revalidation failed (errno=-5)
[27.280027] ata1.00: revalidation failed (errno=-5)
Loading, please wait...

BusyBox v1.10.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.10.2-2ubuntu7) built in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of build in commands.

(initramfs)

The system just hangs there. So what should I do to get it to boot? I'm sure there are a million threads like this, and I'm sorry if there are. Thanks in advance

Sincerely,

~Logan Thomas Seeley~

danns
September 30th, 2009, 02:35 AM
I'm seeing bug reports about this:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/206635

sirloganthestud
October 5th, 2009, 06:33 PM
So what should I do?

sirloganthestud
October 7th, 2009, 03:41 PM
I'd assume this is a problem with the hard disk?

orngjce223
October 7th, 2009, 03:51 PM
I'd assume this is a problem with the hard disk?

Nope, it's a problem with the ISO. The dude above says it's a known problem - but sorry, I can't help you :(

sirloganthestud
October 7th, 2009, 09:10 PM
I may just burn a new one. Would that help?

Jose Catre-Vandis
October 7th, 2009, 09:33 PM